Jump to Navigation

[ research & exhibitions \ awards and distinctions ]

The scientific or artistic quality of the works of many FASS faculty members is nationally and internationally recognized with prestigious awards, editorships in academic journals and elections to board memberships in academic organizations. Below is a selection from a long list.

Awards from TUBA, TUBITAK and BAGEP

Best Paper Awards

International and Other National Awards - Social Sciences / Arts

TUBITAK awards, offered in three categories every year, are considered the most prestigious national academic awards in Turkey. The science award recognizes an outstanding international research impact whereas the teşvik award is for young researchers who in the early stage of their career demonstrate the potential of international acclaim for their work. The service award is reserved to scholars with outstanding contributions to academic organizations and formation of young generations of researchers.

In addition, TUBA offers an extremely selective and generous award GEBIP to the best among the young Turkish scholars each year. Given its moderate size and faculty encompassing a wide range of arts and social sciences, FASS is very successful on these dimensions when compared to its national competitors:

Turkish Academy of Sciences (TUBA) members

            Ahmet Alkan

            Gürol Irzık

TUBITAK Science Awards

            Mehmet Baç (2008)

TUBA-TUBITAK Teşvik Awards

            Özgür Kıbrıs (2003)           

            Meltem Müftüler-Baç (2002)

TUBITAK Career Award

            Ahmet Faik Kurtulmuş (2012)

           Remzi Kaygusuz (2012)

            Selçuk Özyurt (2012)

  İnci Gümüş (2012)

            Eren İnci (2011)

            Ayşe Parla (2008)

            Ayşe Gül Altınay (2006)

TUBA GEBIP (Distinguished Young Scientist) Awards

            Eren İnci (2014)

            Ayşe Parla (2011)

            Abdurrahman Aydemir (2009)

            Özgür Kıbrıs (2006)

            Mehmet Yörükoğlu (2004)

            Meltem Müftüler-Baç (2003)

BAGEP Awards     

            Özge Kemahlıoğlu (2015)

            Eren İnci (2014)